News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Bob_Garvelink

OT - Caddies - Double Bagging - Tipping Etiquette
« on: May 24, 2019, 11:59:21 AM »
Gents,

I must admit I am a rookie when it comes to taking caddies and to date I have used them on 4 different occasions which include Whistling Straits, Erin Hills, Oakland Hills South, and Lost Dunes.  My experiences at Oakland Hills South and Whistling Straits were outstanding and I would rate those caddies an A+.  They single bagged and really made me feel like I had their attention on every hole.  They were excellent at giving me course knowledge, correct yardages, layup spots and were excellent at reading greens.  They easily saved me 5-10 strokes and really helped me enjoy my golf experience.

At Erin Hills and Lost Dunes I had a different experience as my caddies were pretty new to the course and double bagged.  With that being said they were still great guys and they hustled and were fun to talk to but really struggled with yardages, reading greens, and I often times had to go get my club from them since they were on the other side of the fairway.  It really was an issue on the greens as well as it seemed like it was a chore for them to give me a line and they always seemed to be in a rush since they had two guys to work with.

I am not totally against double caddies who double bag as I have to believe there are plenty of caddies who can easily handle it and do a great job.  But my experiences were not great and I stilled tipped them the full suggested amount which at the time was $65 on top of what the clubhouse charged.  Am I selfish to want my caddie all to myself?

At Whistling Straits I clearly got what I paid for but at Erin Hills I felt like I got robbed.  It felt like I had a junior caddie instead of an A Caddie.