News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Kalen Braley

Re: Goin' low on the Old Course in the final round of the Dunhill
« Reply #50 on: October 13, 2017, 12:45:13 PM »
Jeff,

Thats exactly why I don't buy the "better fitness" or "better teachers" line.

Sure they have improved things a bit, but Freddie hasn't changed his swing one bit, (At least from what I can tell when I studied it for a few years, as I tried to emulate it when I was younger.)

To gain an extra 30-40 yards, all with a bad back and a declining set of muscles that goes along with age...

::) ::) ::)

Jim Nugent

« Reply #51 on: October 13, 2017, 03:52:12 PM »
I wonder if the long ball turns off most pro golf fans, or turns them on?  My guess is the latter.  They probably like seeing DJ send his tee shots into orbit, and have wedges into 480 yard par 4s.  If so, the nuances of golf architecture don't mean much to them, and the ruling bodies of golf have little incentive to put the brakes on tournament technology: their market is doing fine.

Even if the USGA, or R&A or PGA Tour do require a tournament ball some day, they can only enforce it for their events.  I bet the masses of golfers, who don't play tournament golf, will still want the latest/greatest long-ball equipment there is, and the manufacturers will be more than glad to make it for them. 

Kalen -- the sports you noted are all team sports.  Everyone on the field uses the same ball.  Golf is individual.  Each player uses his own golf balls.  It makes sense they will want balls that fit their particular swings, strengths and body types.  Is bowling maybe like that?   

Kalen Braley

« Reply #52 on: October 13, 2017, 04:11:07 PM »
Jim,

A few points here:

I don't know if we could call bowling a major sport, but yes they do use their own balls.  That being said there isn't much variance between venues other than lane quickness and oil patterns...