News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Jon Byron

Played Ferry Point last week
« on: November 21, 2016, 10:21:10 PM »
Wanted to get out there while the season was still decent here, and last week was perfect. Played the last round in the afternoon and we were lucky to paired up with a young pro.  The course is quite special and unique in several respects, principally that it oversees Manhattan and the Whitestone Bridge over the East River, and also that it is an attempt, at least, to imitate a links course. Hence quite playable (the rough grass had been clipped luckily), decent greens, and attractive tee shots an second shot selections. Quite unique as a muni. We walked of course, and I wished it would be all walked.  As a NYC resident, my greens fee was affordable.   
Haven't played since yesterday, not playing until tomorrow, hardly playing at all!

RussBaribault

Re: Played Ferry Point last week
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2016, 09:45:49 AM »
Very Nice. Any Photos?
“Greatness courts failure, Romeo.”

“You may be right boss, but you know what, sometimes par is good enough to win”

Charlie_Bell

« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2016, 11:13:02 AM »
With a daughter who just moved relocated to Brooklyn -- we live in rural Connecticut -- I've driven past it a dozen times in the past 6 months, so I'm curious.

1)  How firm were the fairways & greens?  The drought had been intense until recently.
2)  Do the greens have much contour?
3)  How windy was it, and how wide are the fairways?  It looks so exposed that wide fairways would be a must, but you never know.
4)  How many of the 18 holes would you consider interesting from an architecture/strategy standpoint?  Would you remember many of them a month or two later?
5)  Were there any signature unnatural touches -- in the faux-waterfall, oversized- fountain, or island-green category?