News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Bill_McBride

Re: Oakmont: Balanced and playable by all skill levels?
« Reply #50 on: November 02, 2016, 03:21:24 PM »
I played there twice about 25 years ago when I was a short but straight driver of the ball with a good short game.  We played the member tees.  I shot around 90 both times, once 87 on a nice day and 92-93 on a rainy day. Both times my caddies were great and gave good guidance on where not to miss. I was in the fairway but short off most tees and laid up rather than getting in the brutal greenside bunkers.  On 10 I hit a 2-iron second just short. My caddy had me chip to the front right and the ball trickled close to a back left pin, great fun.  I found the course pretty playable for a guy with my skill set, but you have remember Clint's admonition:  "A man has to know his limitations."   Doing otherwise could definitely yield big numbers. 

Jim Nugent

« Reply #51 on: November 03, 2016, 07:22:56 AM »
Bill, what was your handicap back then?

Bill_McBride

« Reply #52 on: November 04, 2016, 03:05:57 PM »
Bill, what was your handicap back then?

9-12

Carl Rogers

« Reply #53 on: November 05, 2016, 09:25:58 AM »
Isn't the "playability" a function of:
1. tees you play from?
2. length of rough?
3. green speeds?
4. flagstick locations?
5. relative firmness of fairways & greens?
I decline to accept the end of man. ... William Faulkner

MCirba

« Reply #54 on: November 05, 2016, 11:29:33 PM »
Rumor has it that a regulat contributor on this Board shot a fine 83 today on his first go round at Oakmont. 

Gives me hope that breaking 90 is realistic for a low to low-mid handicapper with a conservative strategy and some accurate ball striking.
"Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent" - Calvin Coolidge

https://cobbscreek.org/

Mike Schott

« Reply #55 on: November 06, 2016, 08:23:24 PM »
Isn't the "playability" a function of:
1. tees you play from?
2. length of rough?