News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Matt Bielawa

The Confidential Guide
« on: December 10, 2013, 03:15:17 PM »
As a newbie, I'm realizing that it's pretty critical for me to read this book!  I've looked online and I can't seem to find it for less than $200, and that's for a used copy.  Does anyone have any suggestions for how to get my hands on this book cheaper than that, or is that just the going rate?

Dan Kelly

Re: The Confidential Guide
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2013, 03:22:09 PM »
I suggest that you find it in your local public library, or (if they don't have one) request it via an Interlibrary Loan.

"There's no money in doing less." -- Joe Hancock, 11/25/2010
"Rankings are silly and subjective..." -- Tom Doak, 3/12/2016

Emile Bonfiglio

« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2013, 03:23:09 PM »
Go to your local library and ask them to find it for you. I've done this many golf books like the Conf Guide, Life and work of MacKenzie as well as Golf Evangelist.  Easy and very cheap.
You can follow me on twitter @luxhomemagpdx or instagram @option720

Chris_Hufnagel

« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2013, 03:26:35 PM »
Matt, that is probably a pretty good estimate of the going rate...

One sold on eBay over the weekend for $199 and it was marketed as being in "good condition."  

If you are going to pull the trigger and buy one at the price point, you may want to consider yourself lucky - a couple of years ago it was hard to come by copies for less than $500 and I believe I saw some that were selling for over $700 on eBay.  Keep in mind there are a couple of editions out there, I believe the one that was produced in the highest quantities has a yellow dust jacket and was printed by Sleeping Bear Press.  I believe the very first edition has a burgundy cover with gold lettering and no dust jacket - I don't believe there are very many of these out there and I believe Tom originally distributed these to his friends.