News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Joel Pear

New Member Intro
« on: September 16, 2013, 06:49:32 PM »
Greetings from a long (long) time lurker from the western suburbs of Chicago.  I grew up in the DC area and my first time on a golf course was in 1963 at the 9-holer on the grounds of the Naval Ordinance Lab in Hillendale.  After that I graduated to Sligo Creek and Rock Creek.  My brother and our friends would take the bus, clubs and all to Rock Creek.  I still remember climbing "cardiac hill" on #13.  

Chicago became my home in 1985.  For about 6 years in the early 2000s I was a member at Aurora Country Club, a nice sporty course originally designed by Bendalow that has had some work done on it, most recently by Greg Martin.  Currently, I play the usual suspects in the western burbs.

While enjoying this site and learning immensely about GCA, I really never felt the need to take the plunge to register, because, quite frankly, I didn't know that I could add anything substantive to the conversation.  The recent thread on the Country Club of York changed that.  I was married there 27 years ago.  My wife's parents are long time members, as were their parents, too.  My father in law is a past president of the club as are two of my wife's uncles.  It is a truly special place and an absolutely beautiful golf course.

Anyway, I am happy to be an actual participant here, and hopefully won't make too many stupid remarks.

Joe Bausch

Re: New Member Intro
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2013, 07:28:45 PM »
Well, I'm really happy my CCofYork thread catalyzed you to get onto the site.  Welcome, Joel!
@jwbausch (for new photo albums)
The site for the Cobb's Creek project:  https://cobbscreek.org/
Nearly all Delaware Valley golf courses in photo albums: Bausch Collection

Tim Martin

« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2013, 08:18:53 PM »