News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Carl Johnson

Allan Ferguson's Recent Comments on The St. Andrews Links Trust
« on: September 02, 2013, 03:19:57 PM »
What do members of this board with more local knowledge of St. Andrews than I have (I have no local knowledge!) think about this excerpt from a recent Ferguson newsletter?

Who’s the Bully in St. Andrews? And Where Does the Links Trust Stop or Get Stopped?

Not content in their scandalous handling of advance reservations and their continuing unethical relationship with The Old Course Experience, the big story out of St. Andrews this summer is the attempt by the Links Trust to trademark the town name of  “St. Andrews” in conjunction with such terms as “golf,” “Old Course” and “Home of Golf” and, in the process, force certain businesses, local and otherwise, to change their names or go to court. Thankfully, some have chosen to go to court. Litigation is in process with the promise of some resolution by the end of summer.

In the July 5 issue of Golfweek, Alistair Tait  did a good job of summarizing the discontent in La-La Land (St. Andrews). For some reason his article has not appeared for wider circulation in the online version of Golfweek. I wonder why. It’s the most important article they’ve run in years.

. . . St. Andrews Golf Company, one of the targets of the Links Trust . . . manufacturers classic golf clubs and sells product in every corner of the globe. Predecessors of his company (now absorbed) have been in business in St. Andrews since 1881. Now the Links Trusts has demanded that Mr. Glen change the name of his company because they think it infringes on their “trademark.” . . .