News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Thomas Dai

Re: Golfers Practice Because They Want to Get Better
« Reply #25 on: September 06, 2013, 11:51:51 AM »
I've heard the phrase 'golf training' used instead of the term 'golf practice' by some to whom English is not the first language. Perhaps 'training' is actually a more appropriate description of 'beating balls'.

As an aside, as a handicap amateur I'm on the side of the fence that much prefers working on my short game and putting as I tend to find beating balls rather boring and much more tiring.

All the best.

Michael Essig

« Reply #26 on: September 06, 2013, 01:01:11 PM »
Thomas, I too am an amateur, and have the lofty goal of the US Senior Am in four years.  I have taken my handicap down from 10 in 2011 to its current 4.9; trying to get to scratch in the next 4 years, only so that I can hopefully get through local qualifying.  I realize that I have aspects of my game that need improvement.  

I know that I am just playing mental games with myself over the semantics I use to describe what I do at the range, but it works for me, but it reflects the motivation for many people that love the game - such as the people on this site.  So, to achieve my US Senior Am goal, the key for me is to "go play more games" in the areas that need personal improvement.

I once "shared my thoughts" (not "gave a speech") about the impact of using words to describe people and actions to a room full of people.  For example, am I a "father" to my children or their "mentor?"