News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Mac Plumart

The Old Course and Links golf
« on: July 04, 2013, 10:14:08 PM »
I recorded Golf Channel's episode of 'Golf's Greatest Rounds' when they showed Tiger Woods at The Old Course in 2000.  Sure seeing Tiger play so well was impressive, but The Old Course was the star.

I've only had the joy of playing The Old Course once and Scottish links golf over a two week period a few years ago (planning on returning next year), so I am no expert.  But watching Woods and Duval play golf on this brilliant course is inspiring.  The turf is so firm and the roll outs so long, it almost like nothing else I've seen and I cant wait to go back.

That is golf being played on ideal golfing land...and what a different game it is.   
Sportsman/Adventure loving golfer.

Mac Plumart

Re: The Old Course and Links golf
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2013, 10:40:47 PM »
Just watched Duval try to run his second shot up to the pin on 12.  It came agonizingly close to the pin, then rolled all the way back down that swale and on to the lower portion of the green.  So close, but yet not.

The announcer said, "If you designed a green like that today, they'd say you lost your head.".  What a shame, he's probably right for a portion of the golfing world.  But I do feel like this sentiment is changing a bit.  Thank God!

Mark Bourgeois

« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2013, 11:40:01 PM »
Mac,

I too TiVoed it and now have watched it twice. First and most importantly, that's no "announcer," that's Peter Alliss. (Actually, his constant references to money earned / lost was a little tiresome.)

How bout 10, and specifically that wayback pin placement, where driving the green generally meant you still faced a million-foot putt, a nifty way to defend par (if you must) without eating up real estate.