News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Mike_Sweeney

Tree Information & Pictures
« on: August 07, 2003, 08:11:30 AM »
I played yesterday in Westchester (I prefer not to identify the course) with a family friend. Redanman would have a field day with the number of trees. Yes, I am a bit wild off the tee, but when my dead straight, 70 year old - 30 year member, greens committee member, knows where every tree is on the course member, is hitting trees that extend into the fairway on many shots, it seems pretty simple that too many trees have been planted. In one case, he told me how they removed a series of bunkers on the corner of a dogleg since a tree had grown up, so they did not want a double hazard. They just can't see it. We talked a little about Winged Foot and Oakmont removing trees, but I was a guest, I am not a professional, so I did not want to express my true feelings that the course has Fenway like potential, but you will never get there with those trees.

Thus, can you point me to any visual before and after pictures of tree removal programs that I could send to him. The two that come to mind, but I could not find are Gib's pictures of The Cal Club before and after, and Oakmont's Golf Digest article.

Thanks
« Last Edit: August 07, 2003, 08:23:18 AM by Mike_Sweeney »

Dunlop_White

Re:Tree Information & Pictures
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2003, 11:08:39 AM »
.....................Before.......................

Because of tree plantings and overgrowth, trees typically outline today's greens. A backdrop of trees visually assists golfers with shot direction and shot execution. These trees navigate the golfer by operating as points of visual reference. They effectively orient the golfer of the shot required. Furthermore, tree backdrops evoke a sense of containment which is reassuring to the golfer's eye.

......................After.......................