News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Peter Pallotta

A Mini Photo Thread - The Guelph Country Club
« on: August 17, 2012, 07:15:39 PM »
This is my first attempt at a photo tour; please excuse its many shortcomings. My home course near Toronto celebrated its 100th birthday this year.  The 9-hole Guelph Country Cub was established in May 1912. To this day, it is not clear who designed the course, but some of the old timers say they heard rumours it was Stanley Thompson's older brother, Nicol. The course was private for some 80 years, but has been public/semi-private for the last 20. It had an early moment of glory way back in 1916, when it hosted a special match between Canadian George Lyons (winner of golfing gold in the 1904 Olympics) and US Amateur and Open champion Chick Evans.  They played the 9 hole course twice, and Evans scored a 69 to beat Lyons by 6 strokes.  The course was built on a farmer's field, but starting in the mid 1930s and throughout the 40s and 50s, hundreds (maybe thousands) of trees were planted. Otherwise the course has not changed much at all; according to the long time pro, the first 8 holes are exactly as they were when the course first opened; only the 9th hole was changed, in 1995 (to accommodate some real estate development/housing), but it still utilizes much of the original fairway. I find the course fun to play, and it has many interesting holes/features that smack of the very early days of golf/design (e.g. two blind shots on one hole, the Par 5 2nd.)  The greens are not particularly inspired; let's call the contours subtle, and they almost all slope from back to front. You'll also notice the almost complete lack of fairway bunkering,which I don't miss at all. There are two sets of back and middle tees; the course is a  par 71, and tops out at 6,100 yards.  The green to tee walks are very short, the whole course quite compact. I like very much that the course is 100 years old and virtu