News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Scott Szabo

Re: Get To Know Brian Colbert
« Reply #25 on: August 20, 2012, 09:06:54 AM »

What are your plans to do more for the world outside of golf?

I'm going to start work in September as an auditor with a public accounting firm. Someday I hope to be in venture capital or a similar field. I think it should be everyone's goal to impact the world in a positive way before they leave it. I have yet to figure out exactly how I'm going to, but I'm confident that I'll find a way.

Brian,

I'm a CPA with my own small public accounting practice (going on 20 years now) with a focus on auditing local governments and non-profit oganizations.  I'd be happy to answer any questions you may have about the profession.

I have been on record as saying I've enjoyed #2 at Ballyneal more than most.  I see that you've listed it as one of your favorites as well.  What are your thoughts on that particular hole?
"So your man hit it into a fairway bunker, hit the wrong side of the green, and couldn't hit a hybrid off a sidehill lie to take advantage of his length? We apologize for testing him so thoroughly." - Tom Doak, 6/29/10

Tim Martin

« Reply #26 on: August 20, 2012, 09:28:24 AM »
Jeff,

I'm 22. My first US Mid-Amateur will be 2015, same year they bring the US Amateur to my home town at Olympia Fields. Until then I'll probably try and play tournaments like the Western and the Sunnehanna to get my fix.

Brian-I have enjoyed this thread and your perspective. Is the focus shifting to your Mid-Am career three years out because of your new job? It can`t be that you are over the hill as far as the Am goes at 22. ;D   

Brian Colbert

« Reply #27 on: August 20, 2012, 10:04:44 AM »