News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

PGertner

Re: The greatness of Pine Valley's set of greens
« Reply #25 on: June 04, 2012, 11:02:14 PM »
Will Lozier,

I am not the guy to comment on the differences between the two 8th greens. I left PV late in 1987....and I am sure someone more familiar with both greens will have better knowledge than my memory could. Thrilled TE Paul is back....Mr. Paul???  Archie??

Patrick Gertner
GC Supt
Potowomut GC
East Greenwich, RI

Patrick_Mucci

« Reply #26 on: June 04, 2012, 11:08:23 PM »

How late in the match do you let people bail out on bets?

Depends on the opponent.

RAN ?  NEVER  ;D

With the group I've been playing with for 45+ years, NEVER.
If you leave the course or concede the bets, you pay all ways.

But, with my friend, and other friends, within reason, whenever they want.

There's a special comraderie amongst golfing friends.
Being able to bust chops, tease and embarrass each other is far more important than the few dollars waged.
So bragging rights and holding the upper hand are paramount.

Not long ago I was invited to play for a few days, along with some other fellows, by a mutual friend, including a stay at his home.
Our host selected the teams the first day.
He and his partner played very well and more importantly, meshed better.
We lost the match and over drinks, he said, "time to collect"
I whipped out my wallet, took out the bills necessary to pay the bet, handed him the cash and said, "Here's my homing pigeon money"
He said, "what's homing pigeon money" ?
I said, "It's leaving me now, but, it will soon return"
We all laughed.
The next day, the teams were the same and we won the bet.
So, as we were having drinks afterward, I said, "what's that sound" ?
My host said, "What sound" ?
I said, "The sound of ten dollar bills flying back to me"
Again, we all laughed.