News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

BHoover

New Member Introduction
« on: October 06, 2011, 10:30:50 PM »
Hello everyone.  I have been following Golf Club Atlas for a while now, but I just became a member today.  I wanted to take a moment to introduce myself.

My name is Brian Hoover and I'm currently living in Columbus, Ohio.  I've been here in Columbus since 2002 when I started law school at OSU.  I'm 34 and my wife and I (along with our two dogs and cat) live in the German Village neighborhood just south of the city.  I've been working as an attorney for the past 6 years.  Just recently left law firm life to take an in-house legal position.

I grew up in Northeast Ohio, which was where I first discovered the game.  In high school, I had the opportunity to work and play at Brookside CC in Canton.  That course was my first introduction to Golden Age architecture.  I recently had the chance to play there post-renovation and I was blown away.  Brookside still is my favorite course. 

I currently play my golf at Columbus CC.  I've been fortunate to play most of the courses here in central Ohio and am always looking to experience new courses.  Despite growing up in NE Ohio, I'm still working on playing some of the greats near Cleveland.  Kirtland and TCC are at the top of my list. 

I guess my favorites that I've played would be: Brookside (Canton), NCR, The Golf Club, Scioto and Muirfield Village.

I'm really looking forward to joining this community and expanding my knowledge of golf course architecture and the history of the game.  Thanks!

Brian

Mac Plumart

Re: New Member Introduction
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2011, 10:37:58 PM »
Welcome!!
Sportsman/Adventure loving golfer.

mike_beene

« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2011, 12:24:20 AM »
congratulations on getting out of the law firm life.Twenty years in it have made the last 6 out very appreciated.

Kevin Pallier

« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2011, 05:00:29 AM »