News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Adam Clayman

Number 2 is ...
« on: October 04, 2011, 06:08:36 AM »
TheSheit!

For those over 50, that's a good thing.

I don't have time to post much right now, but, suffice to say, the restoration of Pinehurst #2 is truly amazing.

Since I have no previous experience at the famed resort, I can only extrapolate backwards on what it must have been like. The current course rivals Bandon Dunes, and Ballyneal for the fun, freedom and joy, one can now experience playing Links-like golf in the US of A.

One of our long time top secret posters was instrumental in the direction C+C was able to go, in the restoring of Donald Ross's beloved course.

More to follow....
"It's unbelievable how much you don't know about the game you've been playing your whole life." - Mickey Mantle

Adam Clayman

Re: Number 2 is ...
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2011, 06:37:12 AM »
Some call it the Austrailian look. You know, when there's no stupid rough stopping a ball from rolling into a bunker. Well, the Deuce is replete with this effect, and not a stitch of rough. To say this is an ideal is an understatement. For me, it represents the core principles of the sport, allowing balls to ultimately reach their final conclusion in an almost unpredictable manner. I say almost because for the creative shotmaker, sometimes these things are predictable.

After a long summer of growing in the sodded greens, yesterday, they were double cut and rolled to perfection. Their firmness was nearly ideal, even for the national open.

After the round our group was treated to a talk by Bill Coore, where he detailed the process and the mindset that the team followed. What was fascinating was how open minded they were going into the project. Btw, that's code for not really knowing how to proceed until after further research, and a little help from our top secret poster.     .....