News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Bruce Wellmon

Re: Dismal River Golf Club - Construction Progress Update
« Reply #250 on: August 13, 2012, 08:45:23 PM »
I just got back from Dismal last night.  The construction continues and the course is really taking shape.  When I left last time, 18 was just starting to be worked on pretty hard core.  Here is a picture of the approach on 18 as of Thursday...

It really looks pretty sweet to me.

When I left on Sunday, the RGD team was hard at work on the 12th hole.  The green site is gonna be spectacular!!

Holy Cow, what a difference in the 6(?) weeks since The 5th Major.

Mac Plumart

« Reply #251 on: August 13, 2012, 09:02:48 PM »
Bruce...

I'm no construction expert as I've only visited 5 construction sites and this is the first course I've seen start from unadulterated land.  However, I am stunned by how quickly things are moving...by how quickly grass comes up...by how quickly the land becomes golf-able.  I'm unsure if that is because the land is so good, RGD is so good, or if this is just the way it always.  But I'm impressed nonetheless.
Sportsman/Adventure loving golfer.

Jason Hines

« Reply #252 on: August 13, 2012, 09:07:31 PM »
Tom, what approximate yardage is 16 again from the tips?

Thanks Mac, would love to see a picture the next time if you remember. I was there last month and stood on the tee for quite some time and I almost didn’t want to leave.  I was having a flashback on the back 9 to when my grandfather took me to the sand hills when I was a boy, I honestly felt like I had been on that spot before.

Jason

Tom_Doak

« Reply #253 on: August 13, 2012, 09:23:35 PM »
Tom, what approximate yardage is 16 again from the tips?