News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Dean Stokes

PGA club pros in PGA Champ
« on: August 14, 2011, 10:08:56 AM »
Mike Small is the only "club pro" to make the cut in this championship......congratulations. But please..........he has played full time on PGA tour.....played 4 tour events this year......has won 2 nationwide events in the past......appears to be a full time coach at a college for a golf team. This is no "club pro" and should not be held to be holding the standards of a club pro........when was the last time he did inventory for 12 hours at the end of each month.......how many mem/guests has he run lately? Now if I am wrong I will be the first to apologize but I have been a club pro and know hundreds of club pros and that is not a club pro resume!

Living The Dream in The Palm Beaches....golfing, yoga-ing, horsing around and working damn it!!!!!!!

JESII

Re: PGA club pros in PGA Champ
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2011, 10:13:00 AM »
Dean,

What on earth could Mike have done to you to warrant this thread?

K. Krahenbuhl

« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2011, 10:18:03 AM »
Who knew past success disqualified you?  Mike is a great guy and I wish him the best of luck in today's final round.

Dean Stokes

« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2011, 10:20:55 AM »
I am not having a go at Mike.....I don't know Mike.....I am just voicing an opinion that to call Mike a "club pro" may be slightly misleading. No? I was a club pro and played many club pro events where guys won who have barely done an hour in a golf shop.....mine is merely an observation that this could be the case here for people who are not aware......each year the PGA of America hold these guys as examples of "club pros" and I generally find it to be misleading to the general public. Thanks.
Living The Dream in The Palm Beaches....golfing, yoga-ing, horsing around and working damn it!!!!!!!

Dean Stokes

« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2011, 10:23:21 AM »