News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Patrick_Mucci

If one of the architects objectives is to instill fear
« on: July 11, 2011, 03:46:12 PM »
they sure succeeded at Pine Valley.

I've been playing Pine Valley for 47 years, so it's not new to me.

Yet, I found myself playing defensively at times

The fear factor is pervasive on every hole to differing degrees.

While the fairways are generous, those features that cause fear and doubt are always in your vision.

You can drive it thru certain fairways, hole locations can really intimidate you.
Fear of failure to execute can frighten you.
Yet, the holes can yield birdies.  Even # 5 yielded a number of birdies and # 5 has to be one of the most intimidating shots in golf.
The first time I walked onto that tee, 47 years ago, I thought it was a short narrow par 4.
When the caddy told me it was a par 3 I thought he was joking.

Part of the fear factor is created by elevation changes and the consequence of failure to negotiate a chasm, by choice or by mandate.
# 5 is a mandate, # 6 is your choice.
The temptation to cut off as much as you can on the deep diagonal hazard is very high on # 6.
But, if you try it, and pull the shot, you'll go through the fairway leaving yourself no shot.
Mishit your drive and you're down, way down in a sandy wasteland filled with shrubs, cactus and sand..
It's NO place for a golfer to be.
And, you can see it all from the tee.
I chose the gamble three times, cleared twice leaving me a sand wedge, pulled one leaving me a duck hook seven iron to the green.

I'll go through a hole by hole exercise shortly.

Every hole has signficant or multilple features which translate to fear factors.

Jim Franklin

Re: If one of the architects objectives is to instill fear
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2011, 03:50:19 PM »
Fear starts on the first hole. Don't miss long, left or right!
Mr Hurricane

Carl Nichols

« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2011, 04:04:10 PM »
Pat-