News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Patrick_Mucci

Green Chairman can make a big difference,
« on: September 25, 2013, 10:32:38 PM »
good and bad.

Recently, I played a course that I've been playing for 50 years.

The course NEVER looked better.

The tree removal program has been dramatic, from a playing perspective, esthetically and agronomically.

In addition, the program to expand the putting surfaces back to their original configuration/footpad has been successful as it's recaptured long lost hole locations.

Some golfers perceive this as a negative because the slope of the perimeter of the greens, once a safe haven due to rough, is now a fall off that penalizes marginal shots.

The greens on this course were not expansive, like some of it's peers, thus heavy traffic sometimes took it's toll.

But, the expansion/recapture has provided more room for hole locations, thus diluting and diverting traffic from traditional hole locations, that were almost default locations due to lack of availability for other hole locations.

Fairways have been expanded and in some cases, parallel holes now share the same widened fairway.

On balance, in a matter of just a few years, the course has transformed from a narrow bowling alley to a course with more width, a course that's far more enjoyable to play.

And all of this was accomplished by our own Mike Policano.

He's to be congratulated, not just for his efforts, but, his education of the membership and the success he enjoyed in improving the course, architecturally, agronomically and play wise..

I've always maintained that to be a successful Green Chairman you had to have three things.

1     A love of the entity
2     Time
3     Intelligence

And, Mike has all three.

Ridgewood is lucky to have had his services.

I just hope that they're smart enough to retain him as Green Chairman........... for life.

Jason Topp

Re: Green Chairman can make a big difference,