News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

J Sadowsky

Danang Golf Club photos
« on: March 23, 2011, 10:52:09 AM »
First, an excuse.  I played this course about a month ago, and was shuffled to the 4th hole, and then tried to keep pace of play fast and get done in about 3 hours (it ended up being 4 because the last several holes went slow once I caught up with some Japanese businessmen).  Plus I spent a lot of time in the sand without a real sand wedge (I rented clubs, and while the set they gave me were all newish TaylorMades, they gave me a "sandwedge" which was just a pitching wedge with no bounce on it).  So I struggled out of the sand - which I am not good with anyway - and focusing on the details of the course was not as easy as it should have been.  

So, that being said, a few photos, a few comments.

First, the course (a Greg Norman design) is actually on a natural sandy site, and the trees, though they do not look Vietnamese, are the natural vegetation.  The Danang surfside is pretty decent golf land, if not perfectly linksy.

While I am sure lots of land was moved, I do have to commend the design team for giving the course a natural look, except for the parts of the course that (a few holes) that line the housing developments.  That being said, they really could have done more with the holes.  A couple holes were really, really good, but most of them blended into each other.  Sand left, sand right, hole in front of you, narrow fairway, hit it long, hit it straight.  Sort of takes the thinking out of the equation.  

Plus, they had a limited beach view (which is fine), and tried to turn it into a "signature hole."  But the signature hole is just a short par 3 with a green you cannot miss, and a green that is far too lenient about you not getting near the flag.  As "short" holes go, there are much better ones.  A little bit disappointing.