News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Matthew Sander

Downers Grove Golf Course - Photo Tour (All holes 1-9)
« on: August 01, 2010, 06:24:07 PM »
Hello all,

I'm going to be posting my first photo tour of Downers Grove Golf Course. Bear with me as I am no pro with the camera or hole descriptions. However, it is a course that I thought deserved some attention here. As most of you probably know it resides on the site of the original Chicago Golf Club. Here is link to the Downers Grove Park District web site which includes a course history:

http://www.dgparks.org/Golf/course-information-rates.htm

The original 9 holes were constructed by CBM and the membership of the Chicago Golf Club in 1892 and 9 additional holes were added in 1893. After the Chicago Golf Club moved to the Wheaton property in 1895 the course has had several names including Belmont Country Club. At some point it was returned to 9 holes and I don't know how much if any of the current layout has anything to do with any of its previous versions. However, the site itself has history and adds to the interest of a round at DG.

The current version of the course is not long, but it has variety and some interesting quirks. Also, there were several alternate tees that could provide different looks and strategies to the holes, especially if you were going to play an 18 hole loop. The course could benefit from some significant tree removal, but it is a park district course, so I don't imagine that will happen anytime soon. Also, some of the locals mentioned it can be a death march. Our first 9 was a breeze at around 1.5 hours or so (which was slowed a little for picture taking and observations). The second 9 was probably more typical and took closer to 2.5 hours. Around the course you can see outlines of older grassed in bunkers as well as green pads that were significantly larger. Hopefully my first photo tour turns out OK...thanks...

Matt