News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Matt_Ward

Re: Dyker Beach Muni-Brooklyn's Finest
« Reply #50 on: February 11, 2010, 10:48:28 AM »
D B may be the only public course I know in the States that actually charges for parking when playing there.

Maybe someone can update and let us all know if such a thing still happens.

Mark Woodger

« Reply #51 on: February 11, 2010, 12:36:43 PM »
yes they still charge for the parking at dyker.

i have played dyker a couple of times and if the pace of play was not so slow it might be enjoyable but as a brooklyn resident i choose to go to marine park. marine park has recently seen some investment in the course and whilst it still takes at least 5hrs to get around i find it a more enjoyable 5 hours than at dyker. i think this because the course has a more linkys feel to it, i feel like i am further awayfrom the city and the wind plays a greater part in shot selection and i enjoy that challenge.

both are not great but its all i have to play that is close to home. beggars cannot be choosers.

Chris_Blakely

« Reply #52 on: February 11, 2010, 01:43:41 PM »
D B may be the only public course I know in the States that actually charges for parking when playing there.

Maybe someone can update and let us all know if such a thing still happens.

I have been charged to park at Pelham Bay / Split Rock GC, Mosulu GC, Van Cortlandt, and Clearview GC.  I just assumed it was an attempt to keep people not golfing from parking there.

Chris

Matt_Ward

« Reply #53 on: February 11, 2010, 01:46:41 PM »
Thanks guys -- the thing about Dyker is that it does have some holes of qualty -- sort of like the Cobbs Creek fiasco.

Got to say this though -- when you play DB no place in the States can match all the sirens you hear when playing golf there.

Mark Molyneux

« Reply #54 on: February 11, 2010, 02:54:10 PM »
A quick reply to Mike Cirba...