News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Jaeger Kovich

Question about Landscape Architecture School
« on: November 18, 2009, 10:13:08 PM »
As some of you may know, I am a student of GCA, trying everything I can think of to get my foot in the door with a designer. I graduated from Hobart College this past spring with a BA in Architectural Studies and a minor in Studio Art (anyone need some golf art!), and am now considering going back to school next year for my Masters in Landscape Architecture....

I have interned for an ASGCA member, where I designed a practice facility and learned countless design skills. I currently work at Quaker Ridge, where I mostly caddy, although I have also worked on the maintenance crew and recently was asked to redesign a practice area and 1st tee. At the age of 23 (today!) I have seen about 30 of these "top 100" golf courses around the world, and GCA is all I ever think about.

Ideally I would like to gain more work experience before going back to school (if necessary), especially in golf course construction, but with the state of the global economy this has been especially difficult right now and I have been more than willing to go anywhere in the world for a chance, but so far haven't had any luck.

So... My questions are:

If you had your choice of schools with landscape programs, which would you choose knowing that you want a career in GCA?

Are the any programs/grants/scholarships specifically for GCA that are worth checking into?

Is there another focus/major that you would recommend? Agronomy? Environmental? Even PGM/turfgrass programs? Engineering (ex. Raynor)?

Would you suggest going to the EIGCA education program as an American/ what are the differences between EIGCA and ASLA programs?