News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Adam Lowes

Photo Tour of Kennedy Bay Links, Western Australia
« on: October 14, 2009, 11:36:23 PM »
I promised Scott Warren this thread a long time ago. I am far from a GCA expert, I am talking from a golfers perspective only. I know Matt Day and Matthew Mollica have also played the layout and can add any comments or criticisms required.

Kennedy Bay Links is a great layout set in the coastal dunes 40 mins south of Perth, the capital city of Western Australia. It is often ranked in the top few public courses in Australia, and would arguably rate in the best two courses in the state alongside Lake Karrinyup. It is often regarded to have the best set of par 3's in Perth. It has a good mix of par 4's, and the par 5's are solid. The only weakness in my opinion is the lack of a reachable par 5 for moderate hitters in normal conditions. An overview of the course can be seen here:

The course was designed by Ian Baker-Finch, Roger MacKay and Michael Coate and was opened in 2000. Kennedy Bay features 115 small pot bunkers throughout the course. For those who are not aware, Perth is one of the worlds windiest cities with a very predictable afternoon S/SW sea breeze. The course is designed so the back 9 plays 4 holes downwind and 5 holes back into the headwind. Makes for a very challenging finish to your round. However, the course features wide fairways and large greens. It is dry all year round. The fairways are hard and fast and you will find yourself with some very tight lies around the greens. If you look at the above picture, you can see the front 9 starting next to the water reservoir and playing towards the foreground in the photo. The back 9, primarily runs up and down some dunes closer to the ocean.