News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Dónal Ó Ceallaigh

New member introduction: Donal O'Ceallaigh
« on: October 05, 2009, 04:45:53 AM »
I have been visiting GCA for a number of years, but only joined about 6 weeks ago. My name is Dónal Ó Ceallaigh.

I started playing golf when I was about 9 years old. My father had just started and was a member of Gweedore Golf Club (a 9 hole links course) in North West Donegal (Ireland). He used pay me 50 pence to accompany him, as I found it a bit boring in the beginning. I first became interested in golf course architecture when I was about 12. My uncle had a field with cattle next to our house, and I cut three small greens with a hedge clipper. The greens were remarkably good and to protect them from being damaged by the cattle, I used to place concrete blocks on them overnight. We moved house when I was about 13. Luckily for me, we had a hill at the back of our new house full of heather and whin bushes (gorse or "jaggies" as we call them in Donegal). After watching a golf tournament on TV at Walton Heath or Sunningdale (I can't remember), I decided to build two greens and seeded them. I managed to dig two bunkers as well and create heather faces on both. My course was called "Rocky Ledge" and had two greens, but 3 tees. I built up the tees (forward and back tees) as well and had painted markers and hole guides. It wasn't easy as you had to chip 20-30 yards over whin bushes, banks and fences, and then land on tiny hard greens (I didn't get around to installing an irrigation system  :D).