News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Tom Birkert

Re: Why isn't "Total length of putts made" a more widely used statistic?
« Reply #25 on: April 23, 2009, 07:26:05 PM »
I've just briefly scanned this topic, so not sure if this has been mentioned. Whilst I have no statistical background, why not measure the total number of feet putted and divide it by the total number of putts taken?

Using that, the higher the resultant number the better.

You'd be able to sort by total footage, most putts, fewest putts etc but I think the overall statistic could give a decent indicator of who was putting well.

I shall wait for this to be totally ridiculed by the statistical experts out there!

Brent Hutto

« Reply #26 on: April 23, 2009, 07:38:03 PM »
The table looked something like this:

Length of Putt     Points
0 - 2 feet               1.0
2 - 4 feet                1.1
4 - 6 feet               1.2

and so on ...

So you would add up your total putts for the round divide it by the total points based on the length of the first putt and multiply that number by 72 (par).

I had not seen that article but it's the same system I'm describing. What they are calling "points" are simply estimates of the expected number of putts for some given standard of golfer.

Brent Hutto

« Reply #27 on: April 23, 2009, 07:42:15 PM »
I've just briefly scanned this topic, so not sure if this has been mentioned. Whilst I have no statistical background, why not measure the total number of feet putted and divide it by the total number of putts taken?

Using that, the higher the resultant number the better.

You'd be able to sort by total footage, most putts, fewest putts etc but I think the overall statistic could give a decent indicator of who was putting well.

I shall wait for this to be totally ridiculed by the statistical experts out there!