News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Matthew Prince

Introduction & Question about St Andrews area courses
« on: May 20, 2016, 07:50:00 AM »
Hi everyone. I wanted to briefly introduce myself – I’ve been reading these boards for many years, and am excited to now be able to participate (long time, first time).  Thanks for having me.  Here’s a little info about me, and also a question I have for all of you.

I’m 35 years old and live in Brooklyn, NY with my wife and two young daughters, who I can’t wait to get out on the course. I work in finance. I have a deep love for golf, including course architecture and the history of the game. I’m a member at Quaker Ridge Golf Club outside NYC. I’m currently a 5.9 index.

I’ve had the privilege of playing a bunch of amazing golf courses … a few of my favorites off the top of my head, most of which I think are obvious: National, PV, Royal County Down, Turnberry, Ballybunion, Friar’s Head, Garden City. I love the whole Bandon experience and all the courses there. And I don’t think anything really compares to the Old Course … just a totally different animal. My bucket list is still pretty long though, as there are just so many great courses out there to play!

I’ve got a question for the group. I’m planning a Scotland trip with a group of buddies and we are planning on going into the lottery for the Old Course. If we don’t get on the Old Course, we’ll need to choose a different course in the St Andrews area to play for that round. We are already scheduled to play the New Course, Kingsbarns and Carnoustie.  Any suggestions in case we can’t get on Old?  Jubilee? Castle? Others?

Thanks much and I look forward to contributing to the discussions going forward!

Matt

Mark Pearce

Re: Introduction & Question about St Andrews area courses
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2016, 08:10:31 AM »
Matt,