News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Rich Goodale

Re: BUDA 2009
« Reply #25 on: August 26, 2008, 06:03:14 AM »
Hi Paul

BUDA (more properly The Budapest Cup) is a Ryder Cup-style competition allowing all GCA.com participants (and others) to partake in 3-4 days of golf and camaraderie.  The format changes slightly each year depending on the sponsor (in the case of 2009, Mark Chaplin), but generally follows the RC template, i.e. 4-balls and foursome on Day 1, same on Day 2, Singles on Day 3.  Two courses are usually involved, one for 2 days and one for the other.  Past venues include:

2003--Dornoch/Brora
2004--Painswick/Painswick
2005--Littlestone/Deal
2006--Hoylake/Wallasey
2007--Alwoodley/Moortown
2008--Lundin/Elie

Pre- and post- events at other venues proliferate.  A good time is normally had by all.  Others can elaborate.

Rich

Sean_A

« Reply #26 on: August 26, 2008, 06:08:01 AM »
What exactly is BUDA? As a newbie I have never heard of it but would be keen on going to Kent (not played any of them) if there are spaces - and I live in the middle of heathlandville in Wokingham, Berks! Hankley is just the most amazing piece of heathland that I have ever seen and one of the most underrated courses in all ranking surveys - a far better track than anything at Wentworth or Walton Heath has to offer and much cheaper. The latter comment may prove controversial - Walton is a very nice course with excellent conditioning and great turf but, as far as rankings go, I thought it was as overrated as Hankley is underrated - the 2 courses squashed into quite a small site and some of the beautiful bunkers in very non-strategic settings too far away from the action!

Paul