News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Martin Del Vecchio

Why isn't the Colonial (Wakefield, MA) Open Yet?
« on: April 24, 2008, 09:08:25 PM »
I drive by the Colonial in Wakefield, MA on my way to work.  I have noticed that it does not appear to be open; there are no flags on the two greens that I can see from 128 South.

The weather has been great, and even my club (Bass Rocks), usually the last to open in these parts, has been up and running for two weeks.

The folks at [link]www.lastminutegolfer.com[/link] say:

"NOTE: This course is currently closed and is not taking tee times reservations. They have not indicated when they expect to open.".

I believe they just renovated the hotel.  Any idea what's going on? 

Mark_Fine

Re: Why isn't the Colonial (Wakefield, MA) Open Yet?
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2008, 09:37:26 PM »
Martin,
Forrest Richardson and I did a Master Plan for the renovation of this golf course a few years ago.  The plan included a land plan for the development of the property fronting I95.  The entire property was subsequently sold to National Developers and the plans for the course were put on hold.  As it turns out, the new owner intends to develop (eliminate) nine of the holes.  That area will become part of a commercial/real estate development.  The other nine holes (the portion out in the wetlands) will likely remain as some kind of golf amenity (time will tell) with some changes. 

As such, don't expect the golf course opening anytime soon (but as you know with development, things are changing constantly, especially in this market environment).
Take care,
Mark

Martin Del Vecchio

« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2008, 09:25:34 AM »
Thanks for the info, Mark.  I only played Colonial once, about 10 years ago, and I only made it through 5 or 6 holes before I gave up due to slow play.  It would be interesting to see what you and Forrest came up with, but I guess we'll never get to play it.