News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Tim Gavrich

Pawleys Plantation G&CC Pictures (I hope)
« on: March 31, 2008, 04:34:28 PM »
This is my first attempt at posting pictures on GCA.  Cross your fingers, ladies and germs...

Pawleys Plantation is a Jack Nicklaus "Signature" course, and is where I play the vast majority of my summer golf.  I'm going to try to do a comprehensive "My Home Course" essay on it in the spring or summer, but here are some pics of it anyway.

#1, par 5 (500 from the men's tees)--The view is from about 200 yards out. The long bunker on the right begins at about 145 out, so if you can't get home in two, you have the option of a mid-short iron with a mediocre angle after a pretty easy layup short, or a wedge with a better angle after a more aggressive layup.

#4, par 5 (500 from the men's tees)--The tee shot is to a fairway bisected by three bunkers.  Hit a going right-to-left shot to the left (narrower side) and you have a chance at getting home in two.

Same hole--here's the view from the preferred (left) side of the fairway, about 100 yards out.  Approaches to white (middle) and yellow (back) flags must clear the big, gaping front bunker.  The player can hit to the fat of the green (left-front) if a high soft one isn't viable.

#6, par 4 (400)--This is the approach to a deep, narrow green.  That rear-left pin is the toughest on the green, but you can get near it with a running right-to-left shot because there are useful slopes along the right side of the green that can sling a ball to the left.

Same hole, closer view of said slopes.

#13, par 3 (110-130)--People who need multiple options on every hole to be happy might want to skip this hole.  It is the epitome of a white knuckle shot.  While not necessarily a "2 or 20" hole, it's easily a "2 or 5" sort of hole.