News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Brad Huff

Time based rate
« on: December 21, 2007, 04:21:39 PM »
First off...  I'm a newbie here.  I've been lurking for some time now, but this is my first post.

I'm a high school golf coach here in Dallas.  My home course is Indian Creek which is a Jeff Brauer redesign.  The GM and I are having a discussion the other day about pace of play.  He had an idea to have the rate of the round be based on the time it took to play.  Faster rate = less cash.  The obvious problem is if you get stuck behind someone.  Throwing this out to the masses...is there any way this can work?  or at least a hybrid version?

Your thoughts?

BH

Matt_Cohn

Re:Time based rate
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2007, 04:33:07 PM »
There's a real logistical problem with asking people to pay *after* they play, especially if they're unhappy with pace-of-play and don't want to pay the full rate. Talk about customer service issues in the golf shop!

What about fast groups getting stuck behind a single slow group that's 20 or 30 minutes behind?

Declined credit cards or cash shortages create issues, too.

How about the 30 or 40 golfers who all come in at dark, at exactly the same time? That would be quite a line in the pro shop.

What about players who leave partway through a round, or just bolt from #18 green?

Do you change the rate on days where the pace will be slower - cart path only, bad weather, tougher setup, etc.

Does it create an ulterior motive for golf courses to actually make their courses play slower?

What might work is charging a standard green fee and handing out pro shop credit to groups who come back to the pro shop within ___ hours of their tee times. But again, there are customer service issues. What if the group comes in one minute late? Five minutes? It sets up the pro shop guys to look like jerks.

PS, welcome to the site    ;D
« Last Edit: December 21, 2007, 04:35:20 PM by Matt_Cohn »