News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Ben Stephens

Rutland Water Golf Course - Normanton Course (pictures)
« on: September 30, 2007, 07:15:17 AM »
Hello GCA,

I am quite new to this forum, I am a qualified architect with a golf course design business. I have been working on Rutland Water's Normanton Course for the last 4 to 5 years. This course is still a work in progress. I have been in some ways influenced by pictures, comments, ideas etc from this website.

Rutland Water Golf Course is on the south shore of Rutland Water between Manton and Edith Weston - 5 miles from Oakham and Luffenham Heath Golf Club.

It is owned by a farmer - Steve Makey who has organically grown the size of the course from a par 3 course (Hambleton Course opened in 1993) then 3 additional holes 'loop' (now replaced by the current 1st and 9th holes on the Normanton Course) Then increased to 18 holes overall. Nine additional holes (back nine of Normanton Course) opened this May to increase the overall number of holes to 27 and split the 2 courses to one 9 hole par 3 course and 18 hole main course.

Have fun viewing the pictures and I welcome any comments that you have

Kind Regards

Ben Stephens

RUTLAND WATER GOLF COURSE
Normanton Course
6816 yards par 72

Course Plan by ben stephens design

View of Normanton course from clubhouse balcony

All shown yardages from white tees

FRONT NINE

HOLE 1 - 454 yards par 4 SI 8

Hole 1 - front view of green

Hole 1 - rear view of green

HOLE 2 - 512 yards par 5 SI 6

Hole 2 - view to green from fairway

Hole 2 - view from front left of green

HOLE 3 - 264 yards par 4 SI 12

Hole 3 - view from left side of fairway

HOLE 4 - 120 yard par 3 SI 18

Hole 4 - view from tee

Hole 4 - rear view of green

HOLE 5 - 354 yards par 4 SI 14

Hole 5 - view looking down fairway

HOLE 6 -358 yards par 4 SI 4

Hole 6 - view from left side of fairway

Hole 6 - front view of green

Hole 6 - side view of green