News:

Welcome to the Golf Club Atlas Discussion Group!

Please note, each user is approved by the Golf Club Atlas editorial staff. For any new inquiries, please contact us and we will be in contact.

Matt_Cohn

Pebble Beach's new bunkers
« on: June 20, 2007, 03:52:27 AM »
I walked Pebble Beach on Monday afternoon and noticed several new and changed bunkers (within the past 2 years or so).

Most noticeable are the ones left of #15 fairway, including a deep pot within the left side of the fairway, as well as three huge fairway bunkers on the right side of #3, going across the hillside.

Currently #1 plays to a temporary green while the bunkers around that green are reshaped.

I'm not a Pebble expert but I don't feel that the new ones fit the course - in terms of shape/look, their placement (isn't right on #3 already bad enough?) and and also potentially their bright-white color. My understanding is that Arnold Palmer and the Pebble Beach staff are both involved in the project.

Perhaps others with a better feel for the course's past and present can chime in with their opinions.

Tommy_Naccarato

Re:Pebble Beach's new bunkers
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2007, 08:02:54 AM »
Matt,
Isn't that work Fazio's? He is the Company Consulting GCA.

Rich Goodale

« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2007, 08:07:23 AM »
I blame Tommy Naccarato, as he let shivas on this site, and it was shivas' idiotic idea to put those bunkers there.  In fact, it was so idiotic that the idiots at Pebble Beach Corp. listened to him!

Adam Clayman

« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2007, 08:33:40 AM »
Finer points they are not.

The hillside on the right of three?

OMG!
« Last Edit: June 20, 2007, 09:07:17 AM by Adam Clayman »
"It's unbelievable how much you don't know about the game you've been playing your whole life." - Mickey Mantle

Joel_Stewart

« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2007, 09:50:42 AM »
Matt,
Isn't that work Fazio's? He is the Company Consulting GCA.