News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

JESII

Re:Why'd They Build Them So Hard?
« Reply #25 on: March 23, 2007, 04:11:11 PM »
Are you trying to pick a fight with me?

Seriously, I'm not quite sure where our signals are getting crossed, but they must be.

I think the expectation of fairness was not a consideration 90 years ago.

To build a green complex with the consideration that a guy/girl might have to approach it from a poor turf lie can only comprimise the challenge presented when he/she has a good lie, and so I do not think they did then, and I hope they do not now.

I'm no expert, but my instinct is that Jones and MacKenzie may well have had a wholly different philosophy behind their wide corridor/ open in front approach. After all (and remember I've only seen Augusta on TV), the approaches to their greens at Augusta look pretty challenging to negotiate a run-up shot too. #5, #9, #11, #14 and #18 seem like tough bounce-in approach shots.

Ken Moum

« Reply #26 on: March 23, 2007, 04:47:21 PM »
How about the equipment factor? And effect did the total number of participants have?

First big change -- The Haskell ball was first generally available between 1900 and 1905.

In 1903, Willie Anderson shot 82 to win a playoff for the U.S. Open after shooting 307 for 72 holes.

In 1913, Ouimet shot 304, but followed it with a 72 in the playoff. Vardon and Ray shot 77 and 78 respectively.

Then steel shafts came along, but they weren't permitted under the rules until 1924.

In 1927 Armour shot 301 to win the U.S. Open

Jones won the Grand Slam in 1930 with hickory shooting 287 at the Open.

In 1932, Sarazen shot 66 to close the U.S.Open with a winning score of 286

Augusta National opened in 1933.

Horton Smith, the first winner of the Masters (1934), shot 284.

Johnny Fisher was the last to win a National Championship (the Amateur) with hickory in 1936