News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

paul westland

SR700 Velvet Bent
« on: January 06, 2007, 06:38:31 PM »
January 4th. Our Summer foursome played an enjoyable round in Eastfield Massachusetts, not far west of the Orchards @ Holyoke.  East Mountain Country Club is a very public 18 hole course, around 6000 yards.  Their greens are overseeded Velvet Bent. First time I"ve experienced this mosslike putting surface; certainly finest putting exercise ever in winter conditions.  Is this seed in use anywhere else to mention?  
Cheers!  ;D

Patrick_Mucci

Re:SR700 Velvet Bent
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2007, 07:43:07 PM »
Paul,

What do you mean by "overseeded" ?

A golf course I've been playing for more than a few years had german bent (velvet), but, it's all but been overrun by poa and other strains

The question I would ask is:

How aggressive is the newer velvet ?
Will it be dominant or succumb to other strains.

It makes for a spectacular putting surface.
But, can it be kept firm ?

And, how far south is the reasonable limit its use ?

SPDB

« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2007, 07:53:59 PM »
Pat - Are you referring to Belmont?

Velvet Bent was developed northeast of Holyoke at Vesper CC in Tyngsboro by its super Manny.

Patrick_Mucci

« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2007, 08:49:01 PM »

Pat - Are you referring to Belmont?

No, but, I liked their greens when I first played them years ago.  I understand that they recently renovated the golf course including the regrassing of their greens.

Velvet Bent was developed northeast of Holyoke at Vesper CC in Tyngsboro by its super Manny.

That's not true.

German Bent (Velvet) existed in the early part of the 20th Century.  It  preceeded Francis's development of his particular strain of Velvet Bent, "Vespers", by at least 35-40 years

I was referencing a Tucker golf course.

Tucker came from a family that worked with grass.
He became a greenkeeper and an architect.