News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Jim Nugent

Re:Steroids in Golf
« Reply #50 on: December 01, 2006, 07:17:15 AM »
One of this site's better writers, an attorney by trade, once argued that societies with extensive legal controls (translation: voluminous laws and codes covering with specificity nearly all behavior and conceivable contingencies) operated more efficiently and with less crime.  He could not offer any real world examples to support his point, but I suppose that if efficiency and the relative absence of crime were the primary objectives for a society, this may be possible.

Personally, I value liberty and the pursuit of happiness infinitely higher than security and equality of outcome (what some mistankingly refer to as fairness and justice), so no, don't muck up the PGA Tour with mandatory testing.  Besides, what is broken about the Tour that needs fixin'?

Oh, by the way, I am taking Metformin, Glipizide, Zocor, Zetia, Lisinopril, and various vitamins, fish oils, and other things for joints, arthritis, and muscle pains.  Hopefully these are helping me stay alive longer and allowing me to play golf.  Personally, I don't believe in the Tooth Fairy nor the Great Wizard who will make errorless decisions on my behalf.

Though I don't see it is a constitutional issue, I think that Doug Ralston is right on.  If the Tour chooses to test its members, I hope it realizes the Pandora's box that it is opening.  As others have noted, 'roids are but the tip of the iceberg.  There are all sorts of things which might be legislated.  Who amongst us possesses the infinite wisdom to decide what is appropriate and what provides an "unfair" advantage?  Some who star in the 19th hole may decide that the practice tee should be available only for fifteen minutes before and after the round.  Who is to say that banning ibuprophem is a ridiculous notion?