News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Ryan Farrow

Is Landscape Architecture a good route?
« on: September 06, 2006, 02:05:15 PM »
I am now in my 3rd year of the landscape architecture program at Arizona State. Every day I begin to question the merits of the program and its usefulness as a pathway to becoming a Golf Course Architect. Sure not all of it is a complete waste. I am finally taking drainage and grading class which will probably be my most useful class at ASU. The design studios seem to help a lot and gave me a good understand of how the design process works. Translating sketches and ideas to site plans and models, formal presentations, and learning how to graphically represent your ideas is very important. Now it is becoming very repetitive and I am loosing interest in this 5 credit hour class that meets for 10 hours a week.

I have yet to learn AutoCAD and likely won't until I sit down and teach myself. My LANDSCAPE ARHCITECTURE studio is the same as the architecture students, again. I will be spend the majority of my time working on floor plans, choosing building materials, and o yea, design buildings. I have the most useless landscape history class (pre 1900's) that is in essence a theology class.

Turf classes are at a branch school 30 minutes away and conflict with other mandatory classes so I doubt I will be able to take any of those.

I am seriously contemplating dropping out of the landscape program and taking classes that will be of actual importance, but who would hire me with a general studies degree?

I know many of the architects on GCA went through some of the same classes and curriculum I did. How frustrating was it for you? How can I get the most out of my education? I am thinking that $60,000 on tuition could have been better spent. Possible across the Atlantic.

Jeff_Brauer

Re:Is Landscape Architecture a good route?
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2006, 02:18:21 PM »
Ryan,