News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

wsmorrison

Re:Who really enjoys slow greens and why?
« Reply #25 on: August 07, 2006, 10:35:54 AM »
At some point in increasing green speeds, do balls roll truer?  I know if taken too far the ball begins to creep at the end of the putt.  But before that, don't faster greens (not talking firm here, just speed) tend to putt truer?

Maybe an artifact of this is that soft greens tend to be slower--perhaps because you can't cut and roll soft greens as often?
« Last Edit: August 07, 2006, 10:36:27 AM by Wayne Morrison »

JESII

« Reply #26 on: August 07, 2006, 10:39:09 AM »
Patrick,

I have to ask this because it comes up so often and I have no experience with it. Are there really many courses that have flattened their greens in recent (20 or so) years due primarily to accommodate higher green speeds? Where are they?

wsmorrison

« Reply #27 on: August 07, 2006, 10:42:47 AM »
Jim,

I was out visiting Mike Hurdzan a week or so ago and we had lunch at the Ohio State Univ courses.  Mike said that several of the Scarlet Course greens were flattened primarily as a result of today's green speeds.

I don't know of examples in our area (Philadelphia).
« Last Edit: August 07, 2006, 11:14:24 AM by Wayne Morrison »

Patrick_Mucci

« Reply #28 on: August 07, 2006, 10:51:29 AM »
JES II,

Yes, many courses have flattened their greens in the last 20 years.

"Where are they ?"

Well, in my area they'r close by.

Green Brook, Montclair, North Jersey and Preakness Hills just to name a few in my area.   And, many, many others.

Worse yet, is that more courses are contemplating such dire alterations and disfigurations to accomodate higher speeds.

I'm sure others can name courses with greens altered for speed.

Geoffrey Childs

« Reply #29 on: August 07, 2006, 10:59:23 AM »
Jes

others include

San Francisco GC
Quaker RIdge
Baltimore CC
Pasatiempo
Engineers
Apawamis