News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Ryan Farrow

Landscape architecture, how has it helped you?
« on: February 25, 2006, 04:48:27 PM »
I'm assuming many of you have majored in landscape architecture in college. What have you gained from your studies as it relates to golf course design? Some important classes? Or did u need to get out of the classroom and educate yourself?

I am currently a sophomore at Arizona State and I am majoring in landscape architecture. I find myself wondering how important some of my classes are. My first two years of studio classes are in a classroom with about 20 architecture majors and one or two landscape majors. So I’m beginning my design experience working on buildings and not the land that it’s on.  What do I need to do to get the most out of my college education?

Forrest Richardson

Re:Landscape architecture, how has it helped you?
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2006, 05:30:12 PM »
Ryan — If you are planning on a carreer in golf design...visit courses, read books, and get your instructors to let you study independently. Otherwise, you will spend 90% of your time learning about brick pavers and things you may never need. Also, take environmental psychology (Dr. Sadalla is at ASU) and some business classes focusing on development.
— Forrest Richardson, Golf Course Architect/ASGCA
    www.golfgroupltd.com
    www.golframes.com

Ryan Farrow

« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2006, 08:40:33 PM »
I would say that I am a little more than interested in becoming a golf course designer.

As far as courses in Arizona architectural wise do you have some suggestions?
 I Have played Troon North and TPC Scottsdale in 115 degrees but I didn’t have to cut off an arm and a leg to play there. Troon North was quite an experience although I was not a big fan of TPC Scottsdale. It was in pretty bad shape though and at that time I was more worried about my game then scrutinizing the course architecturally.