News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Michael Dugger

I want to know about your collection of images
« on: February 11, 2006, 01:26:50 AM »
Ok fellas, time to cough up the goods.  Tell me about your collection of digital images.

I have been collecting for about seven years now.  My Cypress Point folder alone consists of over 150 images, most of which are a good sized resolution.

I have always thought that what the internet needs is a grand data base where someone could peruse full sized images of all the great courses of the world.  The obvious problem is copyright, but it's not like the stuff isn't out there anyways.  How about a website where you all donate your stuff and we do it!!!

So, for the sake of my morbid curiousity, tell me about your collection.  I know I am not the only guy here who is doing it.  I know you, Tommy N. have an impressive filing system on that machine of yours.  What about you Shivas, Redanman, Ran, N. Regan, Rood, etc......

I would be willing to mail someone a cd of everything I've got if they are interested.  It eats up a whole 700 mb cd.

What does it matter if the poor player can putt all the way from tee to green, provided that he has to zigzag so frequently that he takes six or seven putts to reach it?     --Alistair Mackenzie--

wsmorrison

Re:I want to know about your collection of images
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2006, 08:39:51 AM »
Craig Disher has a most impressive collection of 1930s and 1940s aerial photographs culled from the National Archives and some from the Hagley Museum.  There was a GolfWeek article about him last year.  Through his efforts, we have amassed a comprehensive collection of 160 aerial photographs of Flynn courses.  Of course his personal collection extends well beyond Flynn's small portfolio of courses.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2006, 08:42:08 AM by Wayne Morrison »

Richard Boult

« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2006, 12:30:27 PM »