News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Kyle Harris

A Golf Design Syllabus
« on: April 14, 2005, 07:52:10 PM »
As a golf instructor, I seek to enrich learning golf in a bunch of different ways. One of those ways I've tried is through course architecture history and what not.

I've had moderate success but would appreciate any input as to a basic syllabus for talking about course design, i.e. where to begin, major points to make, etc.

I generally assume my students know little to nothing about golf design.

I have some ideas as well, but would like to see what you guys can think of as well.

Jonathan McCord

Re:A Golf Design Syllabus
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2005, 07:59:18 PM »
    Kyle, I would certainly start at golfs roots, St. Andrews.  From their you could go many different directions, such as types of courses, architects work, or classic vs. modern.  However for a broad overview, I think types of courses would be a great place to start.

Penal, Strategic, Natural, Heroic, Framing, and Freeway schools of design.  Geoff Shackelford uses these in his book Grounds for Golf.  If you haven't read it would be a definate help.

That should get you started.

"Read it, Roll it, Hole it."

Kyle Harris

« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2005, 08:13:14 PM »
Jonathan,

I definately have read "Grounds for Golf," and you're right, it provides an excellent starting point. (I've used a lot from it in my attempts already).

I usually do this during the course of a playing lesson.

I generally try to touch on architectural features, i.e. "Redan" holes etc. The idea being that by reading design features you can improve your mental aptitude at the game.