News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Adam_F_Collins

Augusta #10: What role does the bunker play?
« on: February 03, 2005, 03:05:37 PM »
This may seem like a stupid question to some, but I'm a newbie.

It has bothered me for a long time. Number 10 has that beautiful fairway bunker, but it doesn't seem to play much of a role...

Am I missing something?

Brian_Gracely

Re:Augusta #10: What role does the bunker play?
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2005, 03:07:33 PM »
The greensite used to be next to that bunker.  Also, #10 was #1 before the nines were flipped.  

Mark_Fine

« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2005, 03:17:35 PM »
Shortly it will become very strategic as players will have to worry about driving into it off the tee  ;)

Adam_F_Collins

« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2005, 03:19:34 PM »
So is it just serving an aesthetic purpose then?

TEPaul

« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2005, 03:22:21 PM »
And it just may be the last vestige on the golf course of an original Mackenzie/Jones bunker. Even if it serves no real strategic purpose for Masters players it should remain as a reminder of what the course once was!    ;)

Adam_F_Collins

« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2005, 03:24:33 PM »
Tom - so is it close to its original form, then?
« Last Edit: February 03, 2005, 03:24:50 PM by Adam_Foster_Collins »

JBergan

« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2005, 04:43:17 PM »
I always thought it was a tribute to Mackenzie.

Robert Emmons

« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2005, 05:04:14 PM »
It comes into play for the members though...RHE

Patrick_Mucci

« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2005, 06:18:46 PM »
Adam Foster Collins,

It never did.

JakaB

« Reply #9 on: February 03, 2005, 06:23:15 PM »
I bet this bunker sees more play per round than 750 of the bunkers at Whistling Straits..

johnk

« Reply #10 on: February 03, 2005, 07:03:15 PM »
Aesthetics.
It's a beautiful bunker, first of all...