News:

This discussion group is best enjoyed using Google Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

David Moore

New member and a question
« on: August 27, 2004, 07:31:10 PM »
Hi...I am new to GCA.  I live in Hilton Head, SC but have played many courses across the country.  

What is the definitive book on course architecture?  I was recently in Pinehurst and picked up a copy of Doak's book on the subject.  I also have a chance to pick up another by Hurdzan (signed).  

Thank you.

Brent Hutto

Re:New member and a question
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2004, 07:51:12 PM »
I'm as green as you are but here's the contents of my own miniscule library, starting with the most useful (to me) and descending from there:

Anatomy of a Golf Course by Tom Doak
Golf Has Never Failed Me by Donald Ross
Confidential Guide to Golf Courses by Tom Doak
Driving the Green by John Strawn

The last book on the list isn't about architecture per se but is an easy tour through the modern labyrinth of permitting, financing and construction. Interesting reading.

I'll be awaiting knowledgable replies on this topic myself.

OT: I live up the road in Columbia and an out-of-state friend recently asked me if there are any golf courses on Hilton Head worth playing that will be under $75 when he visits there in October. Any ideas? I said probably not.

David Moore

« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2004, 08:02:00 PM »
A new Dye course, Hampton Hall, should still be public at the time.  It is unlike other Dye designs that I have played (Dye Club in WV, Harbour Town, etc.) in that the fairways are wide and the landing areas are ample.

There may be a deal at a Gary Player course off island, Hilton Head National.  DL3 and Palmer both have courses in that price range---but they are lined with houses.  

Thank you for the list.

Dan King

« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2004, 09:03:00 PM »
Click here for book recomendations I made a few years back
(Wow, more than three years ago)